Intro Post!

About Me

My name is Blake and I’m a nineteen-year-old trans guy from Southern Illinois. Most people consider Southern Illinois to be extremely conservative, which it is in some aspects, but not if you live in the right places. I live in a nice house with my boyfriend, his mother, and their three dogs, for the time being anyway. It is sometimes hard to stay away from bigots, they’re everywhere, but we manage.

I was lucky enough to have at least a few people in my family that supported me. Now, I’m lucky enough to be living with the love of my life. I’m unemployed at the moment, but hopefully that will change soon and my boyfriend and I will be able to afford to move out on our own and maybe I’ll finally be able to afford to start physically transitioning and be able to feel comfortable enough to go to college.

Right now, I’m planning on getting an associate’s degree in one of the Life Sciences (not sure which one yet). After that is said and done, I will be off trying to start my career as a zookeeper. My love for animals brought me to my decision, which was a good one, since my boyfriend is planning on becoming a zookeeper as well.

Struggles I’ve Faced

Unfortunately, like a lot of other Trans* and LGBTQ+ people, my family has not been very accepting of the road I’m on: Happiness. I, like many others feel the need to physically and socially transition, because of health reasons. I need this to finally feel comfortable with my own body, no matter how uncomfortable it makes everyone else. Transitioning will greatly decrease my anxiety, depression, and body dysphoria.

My dad and most of my other relatives on his side of the family, do not accept my transition. I’ve been deadnamed, misgendered, told I was going to hell, among other things by family members. In turn, I have pretty much cut them out of my life.

My parents ended up getting a divorce. Not because of me, it was a long time coming from twenty three years in a pretty toxic relationship. That’s when my father and I got into a fight for the last time before I slowly started moving out. I was verbally abused, because I wanted to invite my boyfriend over and called things that I don’t care to repeat by my own father. He had emotionally abused my mother and I before, but both of us were to blind at the time to see it.

Now though, I have a caring and loving support system. I’m living with my wonderful boyfriend and his generous and kind mother. My mother/one of my best friends, who is now pretty much living on her own, still contacts me regularly to check up. As soon as I get a job, I’m on my way to legally changing my name and starting hormones.

That pretty much sums up me!

Help Resources

If you are feeling or experiencing:

  • Suicidal Thoughts
  • Self-harm
  • Depression
  • Stress/Anxiety
  • Grief
  • Eating Disorders
  • Physical Abuse
  • Emotional Abuse
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Isolation/Loneliness
  • Relationship Issues
  • Bullying

Please call: 1-800-273-8255

or

Text “CONNECT” to 741-741

or

Visit: https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

 

Leave a Reply

